Reading Scripture with Fresh Eyes

  • 0

Reading Scripture with Fresh Eyes

A new day has dawned! The prophet Isaiah reminds us that God is about to do a new thing in the lives of his people (Isaiah 43:14-19). It is our responsibility to perceive the vision and embrace it for the present time. One way to accomplish this is to engage in a sacred reading of the text, using a method we call Lectio Divina.

Lectio Divina

Lectio Divina means “sacred reading” and provides a way to meditate on Scripture. The method includes five stages:

  1. Prepare (Silencio) – Putting yourself in the presence of God. Becoming quiet and offering yourself to God.
  2. Read (Lectio) – Reading the passage out loud. Slowly allowing the words to “settle in your heart.” Re-reading the passage out loud. Listening for the word or phrase that catches your attention and resonates with you.
  3. Reflect (Meditatio) – Taking time to “be” with your word or phrase. Re-reading the passage quietly to yourself. Listening to where the word connects with your life right now. Asking: What do you hear and experience as you watch and listen?
  4. Pray (Oratio)- Talking to God about the word or phrase that God has highlighted. Journaling on how God has invited you to respond. Allowing the Scripture to lead you into a prayer response.
  5. Rest (Contemplatio) – Deeply receiving God’s word and resting in God’s presence and love. Giving yourself time to wait. Being still before you re-enter life as usual.

Looking at it another way, Lectio Divina’s stages provide structure and guidance to help devotional readers savor the Word as a “spiritual meal.” The practice enables them to relish the time spent in scripture and to bask in the joy of “meeting God” in the text.


I invite you to read today’s scripture found in Isaiah 43:14-19. The focus of our sacred reading will be verses 18-19 (NRSV):

18 Do not remember the former things,
or consider the things of old.
19 I am about to do a new thing;
now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?
I will make a way in the wilderness
and rivers in the desert.

Now, reflect on this passage using the five stages of Lectio Divina:

  1. Prepare (Silencio)
  2. Read (Lectio)
  3. Reflect (Meditatio)
  4. Pray (Oratio)
  5. Rest (Contemplatio)


Record your thoughts in your prayer journal.

  • My Reflections on Today’s Scripture
  • My Prayer Response
  • My Prayer Requests
  • My Praise Reports
  • Things I Have to Work on Today
  • Musical or Artistic Inspiration

Go in peace!

May God’s peace rest with you for the remainder of this day.


Sharing is caring!

Reimagining the Great Commission

Sermon Videos

Grace UCC Radio